Microsoft Operations Management Suite: Remove workspace

May 13, 2015 at 4:59 pm in OMS, operations manager, SCOM, SCOM 2012 by Dieter Wijckmans

 

This blog post is part of the Microsoft Operations management Suite Quick start guide which can be found here: http://scug.be/dieter/2015/05/08/microsoft-operations-management-suite-quickstart-guide/

 

One of the things I’ve noticed right away when I fist opened the Microsoft Operations Management Suite (OMS) was the fact that I had different workspaces. They were all created in opinsights because the fact I added 3 different management groups in their respective SCOM console.

No sweat of course. I now build 1 management group in my lab environment where I configured everything so I wanted to get rid of the other workspaces.

Turns out there are 2 ways you can delete a workspace and in fact this was not clear in the beginning.

How to get to the “close workspace” option

The remove option is well hidden in the menu’s to probably avoid deletion by accident which is actually a good thing but it’s a little bit too hidden in my humble opinion.

To get to the remove option follow the steps below:

Log on with your account. You will actually get all the different workspaces which are configured and hold data:

printscreen-0310

In this case I would like to remove the DWIT workspace as this is my ancient lab environment.

Select DWIT and open the workspace.

printscreen-0312

Select DWIT in the right upper corner and select the DWIT EUS | administrator wheel:

printscreen-0313

At this point you will have the settings of your workspace and right at the bottom there’s an option to close the workspace.

NOTE: Make no mistake your workspace will be removed and your data will be erased!

printscreen-0315

Now here is where things can go either way. There are 2 different options here:

  • Workspace connected to a MS account
  • Workspace connected to a Azure subscription

Close a workspace connected to a MS account

This one is actually very simple.

If you see the printscreen of the post above just click close workspace…

printscreen-0316

OMS will present you with a nice message box with what’s going to happen and kindly asks you why you want to close.

Note: It’s not required to select an option but please do so to help Microsoft further develop the product to whatever direction you want it to go.

Close a workspace linked to an azure subscription

When your workspace was created with the azure management portal you will not be able to close your workspace from the OMS interface but you will need to delete the workspace in azure itself. You will get the message “This account can only be deleted from the Azure Management Portal”

printscreen-13-05-2015 0003

Open your Azure management portal and navigate in the bar in the left to Operation Insights (note this name can be changed when you read this article as MS is aligning all the naming toward the OMS brand):

    printscreen-0308

Select the account you want to delete and press the delete button at the bottom of the page

printscreen-13-05-2015 0002

Are you really sure?

printscreen-0309 

At this point the account is deleted and within a couple of minutes it should disappear from the available workspaces.

  printscreen-0318

Note: The accounts that are created outside of the Azure portal will have a GUID like name. This name is generated when you link a workspace to your Azure account.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on RedditShare on LinkedIn